Sol Banner
Sag Banner
Header Resmi

Kiasmos (ISL + DNK)

Kiasmos is made up of BAFTA-winning Icelandic composer Ólafur Arnalds, known for his unique blend of minimal piano and string compositions with electronic sounds, and Janus Rasmussen from the Faroe Islands, known as the mastermind of the electro-pop outfit Bloodgroup.

Based in Reykjavík, Arnalds used to work as a sound engineer, often for Rasmussen’s other projects, where the two musicians discovered their common love for minimal, experimental music. They eventually became best friends, often hanging out in their studio, exploring electronic sounds

After dropping two tracks on the split-EP 65/Milo alongside UK-producer Rival Consoles in 2009, Ólafur and Janus dedicated the year 2014 to exploring the area in-between Arnalds’ more acoustic, piano-based solo work and Rasmussen’s synth-heavy electro pop, with their collaborative electronic project Kiasmos.

By focusing solely on their self-titled debut as Kiasmos in 2014, Ólafur and Janus have been able to combine and further develop their unique sound aesthetics to complete an album driven by their mutual love for electronic music.

Following on from 2012's Thrown EP featuring remixes by FaltyDL and 65daysofstatic, and their Looped EP with re-interpretations by Dauwd and Lubomyr Melnyk, released for Record Store Day 2015.

November 2015 saw the release of Swept EP wherein the guys experiment with live percussion and synthesisers in a studio in Berlin. Featuring 3 new tracks and a remix by Tale of Us, it was recorded in various locations between Reykjavík and Berlin, and showcases a more club-oriented beat structure alongside Kiasmos’ signature emotive instrumentation.